For The Culture: 4 Black People Are Nominated For A CFDA Award

Champions of diversity in fashion rejoice, four black designers were nominated for a coveted Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Fashion Award. The news broke yesterday (3/15) when the CFDA tapped Roc Nation artist Young Paris, Monse's and Oscar de la Renta's Fernando Garcia and Laura Kim and more to help announce this years nominees. Of the nine awards to be handed out, 3 categories have black designers as nominees; Off-White's Virgil Abloh is up for Womenswear and Menswear Designer of the Year, Aurora James of Brother Vellies'  and  Kerby Jean-Raymond from Pyer Moss are in the running for the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent, and British Vogue's Editor-In-Chief Edward Enniful will receive the Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard. The award ceremony will take place on June 4th, 2018 at the Brooklyn Museum with Insecure's Issa Rae as the host --and you know she's, as well as Kolor Magazine is rooting for everybody black! You can find the full list of all the nominated designers and honorees below.  

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Virgil Abloh  (Off-White), Gabriela Hearst, Marc Jacobs, Ashley & Mary-Kate Olsen  (The Row), Raf Simons  (Calvin Klein)

Menswear Designer of the Year: Virgil Abloh  (Off-White), Thom Browne, Tom Ford, James Jebbia  (Supreme), Raf Simons  (Calvin Klein)

Accessories Designer of the Year: Paul Andrew, Stuart Vevers  (Coach), Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel  (Mansur Gavriel), Irene Neuwirth, Ashley & Mary-Kate Olsen  (The Row)

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent: Mike Amiri  (Amiri), Laura Vassar Brock and Christopher Brock (Brock Collection), Aurora James  (Brother Vellies), Kerby Jean-Raymond (Pyer Moss), and Sander Lak  (Sies Marjan).

Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Diane von Furstenberg

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Narciso Rodriguez

Founders Award: Carolina Herrera

International Award: Donatella Versace

Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Edward Enniful